Latest in ripping CDs to MP3

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3,552
Location
USA
My Dad was unpleasantly surprised to find out his new car does not have a CD player. What is the quickest way you guys recommend to rip his audio CDs to MP3 format for him to use in his car? I've used EAC before, I think, but that was a long time ago. I'm on Windows 10. He probably has about 10 CDs that need ripping.

Thanks!
 

Handruin

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
13,363
Location
USA
I still use EAC with Lame to rip my CDs into mp3 and FLAC. Technically it's FLAC first then I convert the FLAC to mp3...but it doesn't sound like your dad will want that. I use settings from one of the discussions on here with SD from years past. I'll have to dig it up and past you in a link.
 

Stereodude

Not really a
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Messages
10,865
Location
Michigan
How does the radio play back MP3s? Does it have a SD card slot, internal HD, or from a USB flash drive?
 

Stereodude

Not really a
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Messages
10,865
Location
Michigan
Its a little easier now. Accuraterip is now baked into EAC and LAME has a newer version, but overall the idea is still basically the same. In general I'd recommend using AAC (qaac specifically) now if the car will play them back and you don't need mp3 elsewhere for compatibility. They achieve the same quality with smaller files, though I guess with only 10 CDs it doesn't matter much.
 

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3,552
Location
USA
Thanks guys. The car is a 2015 Chrysler 200. It has a USB port so I figured I'd get my Dad one of these: http://tinyurl.com/nefde5l Surprisingly I remembered I started that old thread...doesn't seem like 9 years though! I would like to have guaranteed compatibility so it seems like mp3 is the way to go.
 

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3,552
Location
USA
My Dad retired from Chrysler, so I guess he feels obligated to buy/lease from them.
 

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3,552
Location
USA
Does running EAC for speed rather than quality result in any significant degradation to sound quality (that a 73 year old could hear)?

My Dad gave me more CDs that I expected and my BR drive is slow at ripping on the quality setting (starts out at 1.2x and then peaks out at about 5x IIRC).
 

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
20,362
Location
I am omnipresent
Website
s-laker.org
I sincerely doubt it. Your dad is probably used to hearing all that stuff in mono from an AM radio. Plus you're ripping to a lossy format in the first place. Why bother with a bit perfect copy if you're going to immediately toss 20% of the data?
 

Stereodude

Not really a
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Messages
10,865
Location
Michigan
My Dad gave me more CDs that I expected and my BR drive is slow at ripping on the quality setting (starts out at 1.2x and then peaks out at about 5x IIRC).
Some drives rip faster than others with EAC in secure mode. That's pretty slow. If you're using accurate rip you'll know if they're ripped incorrect even if you rip with it set for speed.
 

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3,552
Location
USA
Great! Set for speed and at ~25x including compression time now (30-40x rip speed). Thanks!
 
Top