Upgrade Parts

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
I really like that Gigabyte board as a high quality/no frills option.
What are you upgrading from?

I kinda-sorta want to upgrade my HTPC machine to an i3-3220 since I have one spare, but at the same time I know I completely don't need to because of how that machine gets used. Odd as it might seem I've been looking for something like this an alternative. Dual 900MHz Tegra 3, support for mSATA and mPCIe. I think I could make a decent enough Linux box out of one of those. Probably not any faster than the e5300 I have now, but there's something to be said for no moving parts and a tenth of the power utilization.

timwhit

Hairy Aussie
Thanks for the feedback on the board, that's what I was most concerned with choosing.

I'm upgrading from a Core 2 Quad Q6600 with 6GB of RAM. That's what I've been running in my desktop system since 10/2007.

This is the motherboard I'm currently running.

I'd like to upgrade my HTPC as well, but that will have to wait.

CougTek

Hairy Aussie
Any comments?