64bit Windows OS - Choices?

Will Rickards

Storage Is My Life
Website
willrickards.net
So I'm building my new PC and figure maybe this is a good time to go 64 bit with the OS. I've never done that before though. So what are my OS choices (windows only)? And what are the gotchas? Any references out there on the web I should read?

ddrueding

Fixture
IIRC:

Windows XP-64 - After the fact kludge that includes the Server 2003 kernel.
Vista 64 - Native goodness, Vista fatness
Server 2003 x64 - Pretty darn good all around, minor app compatability issues.

No matter what, you are likely to have some driver issue somewhere; 64-bit drivers are always lagging WAY behind.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
Server 2003 Web edition is like $300.
Microsoft likes to give out free copies of Windows Server when you go to tech conferences and stuff, though.

I don't think x64 is worthwhile yet, at all.

Handruin

Administrator
I've been hesitant to do anything 64-bit in the windows world unless if I need more than 4GB memory per process (which I don't). I know it doesn't fit your needs, but for my own personal 64-bit exploitation, I'm going to use Ubuntu.

Otherwise I'd concur with the others on server 2003 x64 for a windows environment. In our production VMWare environment, it has worked very well so far.

ddrueding

Fixture
My next re-install will be 64-bit, because I'd like to go over 3.5GB of RAM. The games I like to play take about 1GB on their own. Add to that my VMWare play boxes (3-5@512MB each) and work stuff (3-5 RDC sessions, Firefox with ~20 tabs, Word 2007) in addition to Winamp and/or MPC. I could easily find a home for 8GB.

Chewy509

Wotty wot wot.
I've been running XP x64 on my home PC for quite a while now, and the only gotcha I had was the lack of TV Tuner card drivers (notably ATI All-In-Wonder). And drivers for other minor peripherals, eg webcams, scanners, etc. (If you have a SMB level printer from HP, Kyocera, etc, drivers are generally not a problem).