Virtualization project

jlangley

What is this storage?
Mercutio highly recommends this is the place where I come to talk about this virtualization project. Forgive my slowness because I'm new to the virtual world. My budget will roughly be about 25K, though I haven't been given actual numbers. They'll approve or disapprove as I go along...annoying as hell, but whatever.

The details: We've decided to build the computers in house. We will have spares on hand. I have a storage infrastructure built on an EMC Clariion
I am interested in keeping costs down and easily managing guest OSes on a Virtual Machine platform with Enterprise support (Xen by Citrix, Hyper-V on 2008, or ESXi)

Right now, the first 4 servers expected to be virtualized will be Windows servers we already have (aging hardware, bad configurations will make them built from scratch and have the applications/databases migrated over), but there may be a need for linux servers in the future. Also, we will probably build a much needed test environment at a later date-so a replica of our DC would be very desirable.

I am the leading Windows expert, I have a competing team mate that is a Linux (can I use the phrase delusional crackhead?) guru, and our even more clueless manager doesn't have criteria for evaluating what will be best for us.

Truth be told, we are leaning towards VMWare but none of us know how to present all of this so that it feels like the right decision, and a solid one at that.

I've installed Hyper-V, and I'm getting ready to create a test VM, but that's as far as I've gotten. The linux crackhead has installed KVM? and wants to test xen next. I will be testing VMWare next, but once again...we don't even have criteria from our manager about what things need to be tested.

Please--if you could help me with this, I'd be most grateful. I am also slow at this, so patience would be nice too. Thank you so much in advance, because I know I will have 800 million-bajillion questions.

~Jessica