Virtual servers? How and why?

Santilli

Hairy Aussie
Hi

I got a chance to look at a Virtual server setup that was REALLY cool. I'm just wondering why one would do it, and how?

Power savings is the first and foremost...

Thanks

Greg Santilli

Stinker

What is this storage?
My thoughts are...

More servers in less space.
Less need for cooling the server facility.
Simplicity of maintenance.
Less physical hardware to maintain.
Better server availability.
Better load balancing of workload.

I have no IT background, however....

MaxBurn

Storage Is My Life
I have a copy of windows 98 for some old apps that only work right under that OS. I also have another copy of XP for when I want to VPN to a remote machine on a customer site and still get stuff done locally.

I am mainly using VMware, the free version. I have had a couple of problems with it so not a perfect experience but it really is interesting to deal with.

Handruin

Administrator
To answer your questions:

1.) Why?
First, see Stinker's points. He claims no IT background, but he's hit a lot of the major reasons. Many of these are exactly why I use virtualization is used in my current position.

In the rackspace of a 10U enclosure, I have the capacity to host upwards of 500 virtualized systems with redundancy.

Deploying a virtualized system from a template is ultra convenient from a system management perspective. There is also a concept of a system life cycle (from going live to its demise). A team member will come to me and request ten of machines for a given project which may be 6 months long. I can usually have the machines setup and ready in a day. I have access to multiple subnets in our network because of VLANs.