Laptop Recommendations?

Will Rickards

Storage Is My Life
Website
willrickards.net
I need some recommendations for laptops say $600.
This will be the primary computing device for the family.
I was thinking core i5 and at least a 15" screen.
Probably won't travel much, be used primarily in the house.
Needs to be able to take a bit of abuse as younger kids may be using.

I found two models at the best buy but I haven't looked at reviews yet. Both have core i5 2450M.
Lenovo V570-1066AWU 15.6" screen
Toshiba P775-S7100 17.3" screen

ddrueding

Fixture
Following in the age-old internet tradition of not answering the question you are asking and instead questioning the premise, I'll point out that your requirements:

Low price
Won't travel
Primary for family
Take abuse

...really calls out for a desktop. Keep the expensive bits away from the kids, get some more speed, and a larger screen.

That said, I'm a big fan of Lenovo products, though I have no experience with that model.

time

Storage? I am Storage!
I assume you realize that a mobile i5 is only a 2-core CPU - in fact the only material difference when compared to a mobile i3 is that 'turbo' is enabled? According to Intel, maximum turbo frequency is only attainable when all cores are not in use, so does this limit it on a mobile i5 to single-threaded processes?

Bottom line is that unless your app benefits from hyper-threading, you won't see much difference between an i5 2450M and a desktop Pentium G630 (2.7GHz, ignoring HD2000 vs HD3000 graphics). So yes, it's entirely possible to build a desktop for about the same money, only with a faster disk and way bigger screen.

Durability wise, unless the "younger kids" are unusual, cheap laptops are more likely than not to cop some damage. Poking the screen with sharp objects or drawing on it, spilling food and drinks on the NOT-spill-resistant keyboard, breaking off keytops, and of course the ultimate: sitting on it and breaking the LCD panel.

CougTek

Hairy Aussie