iSCSI SAN

Handruin

Administrator
Who's done basic iSCSI setups? I'm new to them and want to figure out how to get this working for a learning project.

I'd like to setup a home test environment of VMWare ESXi with SAN storage so that I can use vmotion. Since I'm somewhat familiar with fibre channel from past experiences, I'd like to branch our to learn iSCSI as well.

Does it seem reasonable that I could build a system running an OS or freenas that has an iSCSI initiator to allocate shared storage to a LUN? In order for vmotion to work, I need two physical machines to see the same storage device.

I've put together a conceptual diagram of what I'm thinking might work. Does this make sense? Is it difficult to get iSCSI working? I've read that iSCSI traffic should be seperate from normal TCP traffic which is why I have two conceptual switches in my layout. I realize I could probably get away with one switch using VLAN which is also desirable (so that I can learn that also).

Are there certain NIC hardware I should consider for iSCSI? I was reading that the intel pro 1000 adapters should work for this just fine.

ddrueding

Fixture
Funny you should post this right now. At this very moment I have the Microsoft iSCSI initiator open on my main file server, preparing it to host some stuff to my ESXi machines. I have made no progress so far, but it is quite a coincidence.

Handruin

Administrator
What OS is your target system (file server), is it server 2003/2008? Are you going to us it as VM storage or are you just mounting it for OS storage? There is a iSCSI initiator doc if it helps?

I'm going to try some stuff tomorrow using either the MS target/initiator software or freenas and see if I can get vSphere to mount a drive. I'd like to build a full environment in my apartment to do some performance testing and other general configuration and learning. I'm really curious to see how iSCSI performs.

ddrueding

Fixture