problem LTO4 troubles on Windows 7

Tearabyte

What is this storage?
Hi -

I'm trying to set up an Ultrium 4 Quantum drive for use on a Windows 7 x64 machine, but running into issues.
I'm new to using LTO, so forgive any newbie ignorance here!

I keep getting error 6, and two different backup utilities (novabackup and EaseUS Todo Backup) are failing tasks.
When I try to do a backup with EaseUS, it tries for a bit, then the error code 6 appears on the drive and I get the error "please insert writeable media". When I try to do a backup with Novabackup it fails and says "error writing to the media during backup" ("error fffffffe") I get the same error with 3 different tapes.

This external drive was previously connected to a linux server and worked for several years, so I don't think the drive is defective. I'm hoping it's something with my configuration?

My setup:
Motherboard ASRock X79 Extreme11
LSI SAS 9200-8e HBA card
Ultrium 4 external tape drive, model # TC-L42AN

At first glance is there anything wrong with this setup hardware wise? Any known incompatibilities or red flags?
The BIOS and Windows both see the LSI adapter. And Windows sees the tape drive in Device Manager. For both devices the status is "this device is working properly". The LSI card has the driver that came with it (bought 2 days ago), and the tape drive has the latest driver from Quantum installed.

The drive is in an external enclosure which has a sticker that says model number TC-L32BN, which sounds like an LTO-3 enclosure. I don't know if this is unusual. This drive was given to me so it's possible someone upgraded the drive and kept an old enclosure. I would immediately have suspected that as a problem, but Windows sees it as Quantum LTO4 tape drive. As I said, this same external drive has been running totally fine on a linux server for years.