How much faith do I have in computers?

Adcadet

Storage Freak
As some of you may know, I'm a senior medical student. After 4 years of medical school comes residency, which is from 3-7 years long. Almost everybody does residency these days, except maybe a few who only want to do research, or the moderately insane (the very insane and slightly insane stay in). After residency comes fellowship if you want to subspecialize or just don't like yourself. I am applying to internal medicine (3 years), and am thinking of doing cardiology (3-4 years after my 3 years of internal medicine) after my internal medicine residency, or less likely, pulmonary and critical care (3 years). Unfortunately for me, cardiology is incredibly competitive right now, making my choice of residency very important in the long run as it may affect my ability to enter the subspecialty of my choice.

The story goes that a long time ago, residency programs/hospitals would start to bug medical students well before their senior year to sign a contract to do their residency with them. The competition for cheap labor....er, I mean residents... got so bad that at one point second year students were being pressured to sign contracts before they even knew what specialty they wanted to go into, and were told that if they don't sign a contract with the hospital now, they would never get the chance again. This situation sucked. But so did residency back then, when you were literally a "resident" of the hospital, needed permission to leave the premises, and were basically on duty 24/7.