Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Replacement for PeerBlock?

  1. #1
    Storage? I am Storage! Santilli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,763

    Replacement for PeerBlock?

    Hi
    Now that Peerblock seems dead, what are you using, you Pirates?
    GS
    Intel i7 940 @ 3.11GHZ 12 GB DDR3 DRAM, Gigabyte GA EX58 UD5 , Nvidia GTX 295, 2 x 160
    GB Intel X-25M 2's, IN RAID 0, Plextor EXTERNAL Bluray Burner, Antec P 183 Chassis, Seasonic 700 PS, 7 Ultimate

  2. #2
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,114
    You use BitTorrent?

  3. #3
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    17,138
    Peerblock was nice, but I haven't been using it for a long time. I just don't torrent media that this country cares about.
    Work1: i7-990X@4.6Ghz, 24GB RAM, RevoDrive 3 X2 480GB, 2x GTX690, G1.Assassin, Noctua NH-C14, AX1200i
    Work2:
    i7-4770, 32GB RAM, 840 Pro 512GB, 3x 3TB, 2x Titan, GA-G1.SNIPER 5, H100i, AX1200i
    Home1: i7-3970X@4.7GHz, 32GB, Vertex4 512GB, GTX690, ASUS P9X79 WS, Corsair AX1200i, Watercooled
    Home2: Intel i3-2120T, 16GB RAM, OCZ NOC-MSATA 120GB, PicoPSU 120W
    , Watercooled

  4. #4
    Storage Is My Life Clocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Around, USA
    Posts
    3,242
    I don't do peer to peer anymore. Newshosting.com is what I use. $9.95 per month with unliimited usage. Max's out my connection every time I use it.

  5. #5
    Storage? I am Storage! Santilli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,763
    Problem is my internet provider charges over 300 gigs, and we regularly go over 400 during basketball season.
    Intel i7 940 @ 3.11GHZ 12 GB DDR3 DRAM, Gigabyte GA EX58 UD5 , Nvidia GTX 295, 2 x 160
    GB Intel X-25M 2's, IN RAID 0, Plextor EXTERNAL Bluray Burner, Antec P 183 Chassis, Seasonic 700 PS, 7 Ultimate

  6. #6
    Storage Is My Life Clocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Around, USA
    Posts
    3,242
    I'm on Comcast. They had a 250GB limit in my area but it was 'suspended' a while ago. So you might want to double check your provider's rules. Btw, anyone can get Comcast 'Business Class' for a slight premium and they have no data caps.

  7. #7
    Storage Is My Life MaxBurn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Nashua, NH
    Posts
    3,215
    Clockers on the right track, news is where it's at. All the new stuff usually goes there first. News groups got a little attention on the news a year or so ago but they are mostly ignored except for people really in the know.

    Clocker: What do you use for a client?

    Comcast both suspended their caps and raised them to 300gb in the neighborhoods/cities where they did start enforcing them again. I thought it would be an issue but I have yet to go significantly past half that. Somehow in September I did 154gb but october and november were only 45 and 32. I was sure they were going to keep the data cap hard and maybe ratchet it down to force out netflix/amazon but it seems like they had enough push back to temporarily lift it. Now they are focusing on certain cities to see what they can get away with I guess.

  8. #8
    Storage Is My Life Clocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Around, USA
    Posts
    3,242
    I use the client provided by newshosting.com. Allow me to just type in what I'm looking for and it finds it and all parts in the appropriate group for me...downloads, repairs, extracts, and then deletes all the parts on it's own. Seems pretty good but I have no experience using anything else lately. I've been ramping up my usage...

    USAGE.JPG

  9. #9
    Storage? I am Storage! timwhit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,743
    SABnzbd is the client I use. I'm using TweakNews as my provider now, they don't respond to DMCA requests as quickly as the American providers.

  10. #10
    Storage Is My Life Clocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Around, USA
    Posts
    3,242
    I was under the impression that USENET is 'safe' from a DMCA perspective. Is there something to watch out for? I only download stuff, no uploading.

  11. #11
    Storage? I am Storage! timwhit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,743
    You are not in any danger, just that something that you might want to download will have been removed before you get a chance to download it.

    http://torrentfreak.com/usenet-feels...ontent-121109/

  12. #12
    Fatwah on Western Digital Fixture Mercutio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    I am omnipresent
    Posts
    18,587
    Must've missed this when it was new.

    Anyway, I've been using PrivateInternetAccess.com for few weeks. Unlike BTguard, where I almost never saw torrents transferring at over 200kb/sec, I am actually sustaining almost 4MB/sec in aggregate downloads right now.
    It's painless to switch the location of your VPN end point, which means that I can watch streaming BBC content or torrent as if from Sweden.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •