Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 2345678910111213 LastLast
Results 551 to 600 of 633

Thread: Audio Equipment

  1. #551
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Do you need an amp or a receiver? You mention an amp, but the Yamaha piece you referenced is a receiver. You linked to the Emotiva X-series gear which does not include a receiver. It has pre-amps and amplifiers.

  2. #552
    Serial computer killer Hairy Aussie CougTek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Québec
    Posts
    8,692
    I need something that will receive the audio signal from a source (TV, computer, USB stick, whatever) and push it to a pair of Paradigm speakers. Ideally not too expensive but still capable of sending high-quality audio to the speaker towers.

    If I'm not clear enough, then I guess I just need to include a link to a reply forum page, pretending it's meant to show something completly different.

  3. #553
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    I've been very happy with my XPA5 (Gen 1) and felt like for the money it does a nice job. I'm assuming you're looking for a 2-channel amp? If you're going straight from a PC into an amp you'll want something in-between for a more-discrete volume management.

  4. #554
    Serial computer killer Hairy Aussie CougTek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Québec
    Posts
    8,692
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    I've been very happy with my XPA5 (Gen 1) and felt like for the money it does a nice job. I'm assuming you're looking for a 2-channel amp? If you're going straight from a PC into an amp you'll want something in-between for a more-discrete volume management.
    I might opt for their 3-channel model. Reading back the beginning of the thread, Mercutio wrote that a center speaker significantly improves the listening experience. I'd like to have the option.

    So it would be better to get a receiver, plug the receiver to the amp and then plug the speakers to the amp? Any suggestion for a good receiver model, ideally less than 600$?

  5. #555
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    You may need to experiment to see what you like but like most things that are audio related you'll get a lot of opinions. Speaking of more opinions, I find that the center channel detracts from the listening experience instead of helping it when listening to music. A nice pair of front speakers with good imaging will negate the need for a center channel. You may be better of investing in room treatments and experimenting with speaker placement in your room to improve the audio quality than to add the center channel. That said, I know nothing about the speakers you have, so it's possible they may benefit from a center channel more than other front speakers.

    It sounds like you would want a DAC without amplifiers if you plan to use an Emotiva amp. This depends on how many use cases you want to support in terms of the source input. You mentioned a computer, TV, etc, but each of those may offer different output sources. For example on the PC, you could use HDMI, SPDIF, or even the line out as a source. If you're using a TV, you'd likely be using SPDIF out or possible HDMI ARC if your TV supports either of those. My point being, if you need a flexible amount of source types, you may need to consider a receiver or a DAC that has multiple input types but also has preamp outputs if you want to use a specific dedicated amp like the X series sold by Emotiva. In my specific setup, I use a Marantz AV7005 Preamp/Processor to manage the various input sources. This device then outputs the preamps to the amplifiers as it has no amplifiers built into it. This does the DAC of the various source formats and does bass management for my subwoofer in a 2.1 setup.

    The Yamaha RX-A670 you listed has no pre-amp output (except for the sub) so you wouldn't be able to utilize any of the Emotive amps or any amp for that matter (at least not cleanly). You would need to rely entirely on their built-in amplification for your speakers.

  6. #556
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    I'd suggest a receiver. One with pre-amp outputs to allow outboard amps later if desired.

  7. #557
    Storage is cool DrunkenBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the floor
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by CougTek View Post
    I might opt for their 3-channel model. Reading back the beginning of the thread, Mercutio wrote that a center speaker significantly improves the listening experience. I'd like to have the option.

    So it would be better to get a receiver, plug the receiver to the amp and then plug the speakers to the amp? Any suggestion for a good receiver model, ideally less than 600$?
    At the $600 pricepoint I would suggest something like the Denon X3300W:

    It has pre outs so you can hook up outboard amps if needed. Down from $999 because this is last years model (no major changes)

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HL8KYAY

    Of course $200 more will get you to the X4300W which can decode 11.1 channels and amplify 9 - this will let you run up to 7 base channels and four heights with an additional two channel amp.

    https://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVRX430...dp/B01KZRPNIQ/

  8. #558
    Serial computer killer Hairy Aussie CougTek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Québec
    Posts
    8,692
    Thank you all for the suggestions. I'll see what I can get locally* and at what price.

    * More often than not, Amazon.com doesn't ship to Québec and selection from Amazon.ca is more limited than the U$ version. Prices on the Canayan site are also higher, even after figuring out currency convertion.
    Last edited by CougTek; 09-10-2017 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Added a precision

  9. #559
    Storage is cool DrunkenBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the floor
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by CougTek View Post
    Thank you all for the suggestions. I'll see what I can get locally* and at what price.

    * More often than not, Amazon.com doesn't ship to Québec and selection from Amazon.ca is more limited than the U$ version. Prices on the Canayan site are also higher, even after figuring out currency convertion.
    Sorry Coug yes doesnt look like Amazon.com will ship over there, and these aren't tremendous value at full retail. Considered delivery to someone close to the border and then a daytrip over to pick it up?

  10. #560
    Storage is cool DrunkenBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the floor
    Posts
    602
    Actually that was for the 4300, looks like the 3300 model is available from US shipping to Canada,
    I used an adress in Quebec City: SmartSelectImage_2017-09-11-01-27-00.png

  11. #561
    What is this storage?
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by DrunkenBastard View Post
    Actually that was for the 4300, looks like the 3300 model is available from US shipping to Canada,
    I used an adress in Quebec City: SmartSelectImage_2017-09-11-01-27-00.png
    The screenshot is from Amazon right? i could have sworn it sought of looks like Aliexpress and i always say that anything with wires shouldn't be bought from Aliexpress. Lol

  12. #562
    Storage is cool DrunkenBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the floor
    Posts
    602
    Correct, that's Amazon.com

  13. #563
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    I didn't realize these weren't going to ship for almost 6 months when I joined. It's not a big deal to me as I have plenty of headphones to listen to in the mean time, but that is a LONG wait.
    So my HD6XX headphone arrived on Friday. I gave them a quick listen yesterday just to make sure they worked. They seem to be working okay. Nothing immediately objectionable about the sound. As I expected they're a little different in sound from some of the other headphones I have (which don't all sound the same either). I'll give them a better listen in the near future.

  14. #564
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    Do you have any other headphones from Sennheiser? I use my HD6XX at work every day and enjoy them.

  15. #565
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    Do you have any other headphones from Sennheiser? I use my HD6XX at work every day and enjoy them.
    I had a pair of noise cancelling headphones from them many years ago that I no longer use, but that hardly counts. My office is too noisy for open headphones, so I use closed back headphones.

  16. #566
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    On a pair of HD650 right now, and I'm quite happy with them. Lighter and slimmer than others I have of the same sound quality.
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  17. #567
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    I'll give them a better listen in the near future.
    So I've listened to them much closer and longer this morning from my Sony NW-A35 Walkman. They image very nicely and have good clarity and transparency without being overly bright or glaring. I do wish they had a little more low end thump at the very bottom though.

    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    On a pair of HD650 right now, and I'm quite happy with them. Lighter and slimmer than others I have of the same sound quality.
    According to all accounts the HD6XX are the HD650's with a shorter cord and slightly different cosmetics.

  18. #568
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    ...and earlier reports of poor quality on HiFiMan equipment....totally on-point. The foam ear-cup on my 400i has separated completely. I'm sure I can just glue it back on, but c'mon....
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  19. #569
    Wannabe Storage Freak
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    ...and earlier reports of poor quality on HiFiMan equipment....totally on-point. The foam ear-cup on my 400i has separated completely. I'm sure I can just glue it back on, but c'mon....
    Make sure you use $699/ounce audiophile glue and allow them to cure in an oxygen free environment.
    - 3770k, 212 EVO, Z77X-UD4H, 32GB, 660w, Titan, 840 Pro/256GB, 2TB & 1TB, Define R4, P4317Q & ZR24w, Unicomp/104, Win7 Pro x64.

    - Nikon D610 w/grip, 50mm/1.4G, 16-35mm/4G, 105mm/2.8G micro, 200-500mm/5.6E.

  20. #570
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,165
    Evacuate the air to a high vacuum (0.05 Torr), then purge with a pure inert gas (5.0 helium or nitrogen) and repeat a few times to be sure.
    --Lunar

  21. #571
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    The trick is it needs to work with the metal mesh, foam inner, and leather(ish) outer at the same time. No CA because of the foam. Hot glue? Epoxy of some kind?
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  22. #572
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,165
    Can you dissolve some polyurethane and add a binder for the foam?
    --Lunar

  23. #573
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Hot glue may melt the foam depending on the type of foam. What about a double sided tape or contact cement?

  24. #574
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    The metal mesh might have a hard time with the tape, not a lot of surface area available. Contact cement is an interesting idea; is there a foam-melting concern there as well?
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  25. #575
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,165
    Ideally you want to dissolve the surface of the foam, not melt it.
    --Lunar

  26. #576
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Contact cement is an interesting idea; is there a foam-melting concern there as well?
    That depends on the type. A water based one I would expect not. An oil based one, maybe.

  27. #577
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,165
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    That depends on the type. A water based one I would expect not. An oil based one, maybe.
    I seriously doubt there would be enough energy to melt the foam.
    --Lunar

  28. #578
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I seriously doubt there would be enough energy to melt the foam.
    I highly doubt that's the melting he needs to be concerned about.

  29. #579
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,165
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    I highly doubt that's the melting he needs to be concerned about.
    It may be an RMA or circular file situation.
    --Lunar

  30. #580
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    The HiFiman Sundara headphones sound amazing! They're quite comfortable too. I think a pair is in my future.

  31. #581
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    In the not too distant past I've read of more and more complaints against HiFiman quality and how they treat customers when they need warranty work. Have you noticed any of this in your internet travels?

  32. #582
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    The impedance of 37Ω makes them appear appear on paper to be easy to drive. The price is certainly better than the new HD820 from Sennheiser...not that these are directly comparable.

  33. #583
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    In the not too distant past I've read of more and more complaints against HiFiman quality and how they treat customers when they need warranty work. Have you noticed any of this in your internet travels?
    Yes, I've seen the same complaining that they won't sell parts and that they're not so friendly with warranty claims. It wouldn't stop me from buying, but I would give it some consideration.

    The products from them I do have held up well and still work.

  34. #584
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    So I ordered up the HE-560 instead of the Sundara despite having not heard them. I saw a few people on HeadFi indicate they thought the HE-560 sounded better than the Sundara. I had been eyeballing the HE-560's for many months as an upgrade to my HE-500s when they first dropped to $499. Supposedly they're on their way to being discontinued with production already stopped and they are quite a bit cheaper than when they first came out. On the other hand, the Sundara is brand new and still at the opening price.

    Does the older originally $899, now $499 model sound better than the new $499 model? I guess I will find out.

  35. #585
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    The quality on my HE400i did dissapoint. The cables developed static when moving within a month and the foam earcup came off within 6 months of daily use. The sound is great, but I'll be going back to Sennheiser next time I buy.
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  36. #586
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,165
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    The quality on my HE400i did dissapoint. The cables developed static when moving within a month and the foam earcup came off within 6 months of daily use. The sound is great, but I'll be going back to Sennheiser next time I buy.
    German vs. Chinese, hmm.
    --Lunar

  37. #587
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    But only $80 more ($220 vs $300) and IMO the Sennheiser sounds better.
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  38. #588
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Which Sennheisers?

  39. #589
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    The quality issues and the perceived poor customer relations from HiFiMan keep me from being more interested in their products.

  40. #590
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    ... and the perceived poor customer relations from HiFiMan keep me from being more interested in their products.
    I'm not sure it's just perceived. This thread I read on Head-Fi is a total trainwreck.

  41. #591
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    I worded it that way because I've never owned any of their products and I'm only going based on angry comments online. I'm not surprised you were able to easily reference another example. If their products cost less I might gamble but if I'm going to spend $500+ for that risk.

  42. #592
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    Which Sennheisers?
    HD650
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  43. #593
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    HD650
    Or the Massdrop Sennheiser HD6XX for $199 makes your argument even stronger given that it's the same as the HD650.

  44. #594
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    HD650
    The HD6XX sounds pretty good, but pale in comparison to the HE-500s I have. They are more comfortable though. Of course they were less than half the price.

    I'm not sure what's going on with my HE-560 order. I guess buying from the cheapest place has its disadvantages as they haven't shipped and it's sitting pending.

    Edit: I now have a tracking number.
    Last edited by Stereodude; 01-17-2018 at 12:36 PM.

  45. #595
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    Not only are the HD6XX less than half the price, you also need less expensive supporting audio gear like amp/DAC to drive them reasonably well. I imagine that for you to get what you paid for out of the HE-500's you would want to purchase a decent amp/DAC to drive those. I carry my HD6xx in my computer bag and use them all day long without fatigue.

  46. #596
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,187
    At the moment I'm driving the HD650 with a Zoom UAC-2.
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  47. #597
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    That's a neat device. I wasn't aware they made devices like that. I have one of their audio recorders.

  48. #598
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    I have the worst luck with USB DACs. The nice Grace m9XX unit I got from Massdrop doesn't play nice with my work PC (Lenovo T470s running Windows 7). In both the Class 1 mode (driverless) and the Class 2 mode (requires drivers) there are regular periodic glitches in the audio. The Audio-Gd DACs I have played nice with XP, but the chipset in them doesn't play nice with 7 or newer. I should just get my CM6631A USB to SPDIF board and feed the Grace M9XX that way. That's what I did with the Audio-Gd unit I had at my last job. It should be in the box of stuff I brought home...

  49. #599
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,535
    I've had some weird quirks with my XDuoo XD-05 DAC/Amp which is similar to the luck you've described. It's quirky enough that I don't really use it any more.

  50. #600
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    I've had some weird quirks with my XDuoo XD-05 DAC/Amp which is similar to the luck you've described. It's quirky enough that I don't really use it any more.
    I mostly just use it to listen to a few podcasts while at work where the glitches aren't noticeable. I'm going to bring my CM6631A board and optical cable in though and see if it behaves any better that way. I expect it will be flawless.

    I should also take the Grace m9XX unit home and confirm it doesn't glitch on other PCs. I didn't listen long enough when I first got it to say one way or another.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •