Page 345 of 347 FirstFirst ... 245295335336337338339340341342343344345346347 LastLast
Results 17,201 to 17,250 of 17345

Thread: Something Random

  1. #17201
    Wotty wot wot. Storage Is My Life Chewy509's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,861
    Tip: If you need to reinstall Office 2016 from DVD, ensure all updates are applied first, before attempt to connect Outlook to Office365 or other hosted exchange solution...

    MS Outlook gives really, really cryptic error messages in the simple case that the Outlook instance doesn't have the correct patches to talk correctly to O365.
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

  2. #17202
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    The autononymous cruising and braking in the rental car doesn't work right on the curves.
    --Lunar

  3. #17203
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,846
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    The autononymous cruising and braking in the rental car doesn't work right on the curves.
    Good to know. I'll avoid that one next time I'm renting.

  4. #17204
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    My concern is how will all the autononymous cars work with the more complicated situations.
    Half the roads have crappy lane lines illegible in the rain.
    There is no instruction manual in rental cars nowadays.
    There should be time to read with all Canadians in the toilets.
    --Lunar

  5. #17205
    Learning Storage Performance Newtun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    There should be time to read with all Canadians in the toilets.
    Indeed, sir!

  6. #17206
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Well, that was a very specific situation.
    --Lunar

  7. #17207
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,846
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    There is no instruction manual in rental cars nowadays.
    You have two pedals and a steering wheel. What more do you need to know?

    There should be time to read with all Canadians in the toilets.
    How do you know they're all in the toilets, not just more of them? Did you do a survey/poll?

  8. #17208
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    You have two pedals and a steering wheel. What more do you need to know?
    The cruise control is important outside of the main cities. Some sites/facilities are 100+ miles from the airports.
    Setting the clock or resetting the odometer can also be a hassle, not to mention the audio/telephony systems.
    Of course there is no concern for power steering fluids, etc. as in the old days.

    How do you know they're all in the toilets, not just more of them? Did you do a survey/poll?
    I meant the other people in the vehicle. Obviously I am not a Canon.
    --Lunar

  9. #17209
    Allergic to Sunlight Storage is cool sedrosken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    The Sticks
    Age
    20
    Posts
    979
    Did another SSD move to a spare I pulled from a dead T430. It's only marginally larger, but much, much faster. Easily twice as fast and then some. I keep getting the itch to abandon Windows and go for my ambition to set up a Linux server with PCI-E passthrough to a Windows VM for my games, but then I pulled up CPU-Z to verify something and uh... I don't have VT-d on this machine. That sent my hopes packing and the laziness really set in -- I'm probably stuck on Windows until I build an entirely new machine.
    Arwic: P8Z77-WS, 3570K (4.3GHz, 1.23v), 16GB DDR3-1600 (1800 CL11, 1.55v), Sapphire Nitro RX480 8GB, 256GB SSD/8TB HDD, EVGA 600BQ, LTSB x64
    Al-Jalima: Gateway2000 OEM, PPro 180MHz/256K L2, 128MB ECC EDO (2x72pin SIMMs), TNT2M64 32MB, ES1868F, 3C-905B, NEC USB2 card, 32GB SD->IDE, SS-350ET, DOS6.22+WFW3.11/NT4
    Samsur: SL-75KAV, Thunderbird 1333, 768MB PC133, GeForce4Ti4200 64MB, Vortex 2, 3C-905C, 320GB HDD, SS-350ET, WinME(DOS mode patch, USP, KernelEx)

  10. #17210
    Wannabe Storage Freak
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,376
    DD's new case. The Corsair 1000D.
    - 3770k, 212 EVO, Z77X-UD4H, 32GB, 660w, Titan, 840 Pro/256GB, 2TB & 1TB, Define R4, P4317Q & ZR24w, Unicomp/104, Win7 Pro x64.

    - Nikon D610 w/grip, 50mm/1.4G, 16-35mm/4G, 105mm/2.8G micro, 200-500mm/5.6E.

  11. #17211
    Storage? I am Storage! Bozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Twilight Zone
    Posts
    4,385
    Quote Originally Posted by snowhiker View Post
    DD's new case. The Corsair 1000D.
    That guy talks way too fast.
    Bozo

  12. #17212
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Bozo View Post
    That guy talks way too fast.
    I avoid the You Tubes.
    https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CC-9011148-WW
    --Lunar

  13. #17213
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    I don't need a second computer in the case. I'm actually looking for just a flat plate that will mount the motherboard and PSU, with the GPU mounted co-planar to the MB and VESA holes to mount the whole thing behind the monitor. Then just mount waterblocks and plumb it out to an external cooler.
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  14. #17214
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    I don't need a second computer in the case. I'm actually looking for just a flat plate that will mount the motherboard and PSU, with the GPU mounted co-planar to the MB and VESA holes to mount the whole thing behind the monitor. Then just mount waterblocks and plumb it out to an external cooler.
    I need a diagram for that. Are you saying the monitor and humongous case will be attached permanently? What is holding up that 60 lb. setup and aiming it at your head?
    --Lunar

  15. #17215
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    The only parts of my current workstations are:

    1. Motherboard (CPU, RAM, M.2 SSD onboard)
    2. GPU
    3. PSU

    With waterblocks connected to the CPU and GPU, they aren't particularly large or heavy. There are PCIe extension cables that allow the GPU to be mounted near (but not sticking out of) the motherboard. I want a single piece of metal plate that has mounting holes for the motherboard on one side, a bracket for the GPU on the other, and in the middle a VESA-spec set of holes. The whole thing will fit (or just about) behind a 32" monitor. Links for stuff to help visualize below:

    Motherboard: http://a.co/7d6jYSO
    GPU: http://a.co/7d6jYSO
    PSU: http://a.co/269t9xd
    GPU Cable: http://a.co/fCCn9cz

    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  16. #17216
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    I see. Or you could buy the imac pro.
    --Lunar

  17. #17217
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I see. Or you could buy the imac pro.
    I'm not made of money, and I like fast and silent computers
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  18. #17218
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    I'm not made of money...
    I thought you were. Maybe times are changing.
    --Lunar

  19. #17219
    Wannabe Storage Freak
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,376
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    The only parts of my current workstations are:

    1. Motherboard (CPU, RAM, M.2 SSD onboard)
    2. GPU
    3. PSU

    With waterblocks connected to the CPU and GPU, they aren't particularly large or heavy. There are PCIe extension cables that allow the GPU to be mounted near (but not sticking out of) the motherboard. I want a single piece of metal plate that has mounting holes for the motherboard on one side, a bracket for the GPU on the other, and in the middle a VESA-spec set of holes. The whole thing will fit (or just about) behind a 32" monitor. Links for stuff to help visualize below:

    [FONT="]Motherboard:[/FONT][FONT="] http://a.co/7d6jYSO
    [/FONT]
    [FONT="]GPU:[/FONT][FONT="] http://a.co/7d6jYSO
    [/FONT]
    [FONT="]PSU:[/FONT][FONT="] http://a.co/269t9xd
    [/FONT]
    [FONT="]GPU Cable:[/FONT][FONT="] http://a.co/fCCn9cz[/FONT]

    Which GPU? CPU & GPU links are the same.
    - 3770k, 212 EVO, Z77X-UD4H, 32GB, 660w, Titan, 840 Pro/256GB, 2TB & 1TB, Define R4, P4317Q & ZR24w, Unicomp/104, Win7 Pro x64.

    - Nikon D610 w/grip, 50mm/1.4G, 16-35mm/4G, 105mm/2.8G micro, 200-500mm/5.6E.

  20. #17220
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by snowhiker View Post
    Which GPU? CPU & GPU links are the same.
    I'm seeing only a mainboard, not a CPU or GPU.
    --Lunar

  21. #17221
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  22. #17222
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    ...and the CPU is irrelevant, but the waterblock is here: Link: http://a.co/86REgQ4
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  23. #17223
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    ...and the CPU is irrelevant, but the waterblock is here: Link: http://a.co/86REgQ4
    Why is the CPU irrelant? It's the main part of the computer! Where does the water go, to a drain or is it recycled somehow?
    --Lunar

  24. #17224
    Allergic to Sunlight Storage is cool sedrosken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    The Sticks
    Age
    20
    Posts
    979
    Jesus, talk about sticker shock. I had to seriously think about dropping the 150 apiece on the Z77 board and 4GB 960 I'm running now. Yeah, I know, I got taken for a ride on both -- but impatience and insistence on specific quality levels drove me to it.

    I finally got Forza Horizon 3's PC port working -- after a fashion. It crashes to desktop after about 10 minutes of gameplay -- not a driver recovery or anything that would indicate instability on my GPU's part though this is one of few games I have configured to really peg my GPU at 100%, and apparently it's just very crashy on PC. Oh well. Considering when I bought it, I wasted a month downloading it only to have it not even launch, I'll take any sort of improvement on that I can get -- especially as MS seems to have a "no refunds" policy.
    Arwic: P8Z77-WS, 3570K (4.3GHz, 1.23v), 16GB DDR3-1600 (1800 CL11, 1.55v), Sapphire Nitro RX480 8GB, 256GB SSD/8TB HDD, EVGA 600BQ, LTSB x64
    Al-Jalima: Gateway2000 OEM, PPro 180MHz/256K L2, 128MB ECC EDO (2x72pin SIMMs), TNT2M64 32MB, ES1868F, 3C-905B, NEC USB2 card, 32GB SD->IDE, SS-350ET, DOS6.22+WFW3.11/NT4
    Samsur: SL-75KAV, Thunderbird 1333, 768MB PC133, GeForce4Ti4200 64MB, Vortex 2, 3C-905C, 320GB HDD, SS-350ET, WinME(DOS mode patch, USP, KernelEx)

  25. #17225
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Are your finances straightened out for school in the Fall? Don't they have some academic pricing on MS?
    --Lunar

  26. #17226
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,594
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    That's a neat looking GPU with that water block. I don't remember if you've posted a pic of the entire build. If not I'd be interested to check it out.

  27. #17227
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    Why is the CPU irrelant? It's the main part of the computer! Where does the water go, to a drain or is it recycled somehow?
    Hard-pipe plumbing that routes to a radiator next to the rad on my heat-pump water heater. The heat produced by my computer makes my water heater more efficient.

    And the CPU isn't important because I'm mainly worried about the physical install/layout. Just buying the highest clockspeed CPU and sticking it in isn't an issue (i7-8700k ATM?)
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  28. #17228
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    How exactly are you heat exchanging?
    --Lunar

  29. #17229
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,846
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    How exactly are you heat exchanging?
    He has an undocumented worker gather it up in a bucket and discard it out the back door behind the house and then insert cold.

  30. #17230
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,594
    Nice ninja edit.

  31. #17231
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,846
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    Nice ninja edit.
    Well, I didn't want to confuse anyone with the talk.

  32. #17232
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    I'm confused about the whole concept. Running plumbing to an open frame computer attached to a monitor is rather strange, like Brazil.
    --Lunar

  33. #17233
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,594
    What is wrong with Brazil?

    The concept sounds really neat to me. Pull the heat off the computer and dump it into the house's hot water chain. He probably has some fun heat exchanger to mix the two sources.

  34. #17234
    Wotty wot wot. Storage Is My Life Chewy509's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    What is wrong with Brazil?
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=what+is+wrong+with+brazil

    PS. Sorry couldn't resist... (This post was purely intended in jest, apologies if offence was taken).
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

  35. #17235
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,594
    Even with you helping me google that I still don't understand Lunar's reference regarding Brazil?

  36. #17236
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    --Lunar

  37. #17237
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    Even with you helping me google that I still don't understand Lunar's reference regarding Brazil?
    It's the parts with Harry Tuttle, heating engineer (Robert De Niro).
    --Lunar

  38. #17238
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,594
    I've never heard of it. Thanks for clarifying.

  39. #17239
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    I decided to not actually mess with the house plumbing, but my water heater uses an electric heat pump. This means that it pulls heat from the air around the water heater to heat the water. All the waste heat from my rack goes out to the garage, and a radiator right next to the water heater blows the hot air directly onto the water heaters intake. It was actually some really easy plumbing work, and I trust myself to do it as it isn't hooked to any potable faucet and has a limited volume of liquid to pour out. I'm actually tempted to do the same pulling the heat away from the back of the fridge; I'm sure the fridge will be more efficient if their heatsink isn't hot, and the spare heat can go into the hot water.

    Worth it? Unlikely. But trying to optimize systems is fun.
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  40. #17240
    Storage is cool sdbardwick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    North San Diego County
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    I decided to not actually mess with the house plumbing, but my water heater uses an electric heat pump. This means that it pulls heat from the air around the water heater to heat the water. All the waste heat from my rack goes out to the garage, and a radiator right next to the water heater blows the hot air directly onto the water heaters intake. It was actually some really easy plumbing work, and I trust myself to do it as it isn't hooked to any potable faucet and has a limited volume of liquid to pour out. I'm actually tempted to do the same pulling the heat away from the back of the fridge; I'm sure the fridge will be more efficient if their heatsink isn't hot, and the spare heat can go into the hot water.

    Worth it? Unlikely. But trying to optimize systems is fun.
    Until you remove so much heat that the condensate doesn't evaporate, and you get water pooling under the fridge...

  41. #17241
    Allergic to Sunlight Storage is cool sedrosken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    The Sticks
    Age
    20
    Posts
    979
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    Are your finances straightened out for school in the Fall? Don't they have some academic pricing on MS?
    I'm probably going to change my strategy as what I'm doing now simply isn't working fast enough for my liking. I'll probably try to grab some certs to get a better job and then use that as a springboard for the rest of my education. As it stands right now my only option for school would be loans, and I'm done screwing my future self over to have something today.
    Arwic: P8Z77-WS, 3570K (4.3GHz, 1.23v), 16GB DDR3-1600 (1800 CL11, 1.55v), Sapphire Nitro RX480 8GB, 256GB SSD/8TB HDD, EVGA 600BQ, LTSB x64
    Al-Jalima: Gateway2000 OEM, PPro 180MHz/256K L2, 128MB ECC EDO (2x72pin SIMMs), TNT2M64 32MB, ES1868F, 3C-905B, NEC USB2 card, 32GB SD->IDE, SS-350ET, DOS6.22+WFW3.11/NT4
    Samsur: SL-75KAV, Thunderbird 1333, 768MB PC133, GeForce4Ti4200 64MB, Vortex 2, 3C-905C, 320GB HDD, SS-350ET, WinME(DOS mode patch, USP, KernelEx)

  42. #17242
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    Quote Originally Posted by sdbardwick View Post
    Until you remove so much heat that the condensate doesn't evaporate, and you get water pooling under the fridge...
    Good tip. Install drain....
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  43. #17243
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Have you calculated the thermodynamic efficiency? What efficiency does the heat pump have and then what is the energy from the computer that is actually transferred on a daily basis? I suspect that the overall difference may literally be a few seconds of hot water usage.
    --Lunar

  44. #17244
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    I have been assigned as field observer, training. I don't understand what that entails, but perhaps it is the lack of English.
    --Lunar

  45. #17245
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,213
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I have been assigned as field observer, training. I don't understand what that entails, but perhaps it is the lack of English.
    Are you observing trainers or training observers?
    Work1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home1: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080

  46. #17246
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Are you observing trainers or training observers?
    It is actually: Observer, field ready training.
    --Lunar

  47. #17247
    Wotty wot wot. Storage Is My Life Chewy509's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,861
    Based on my experience, I would assume the role is being a trainee, being trained to be a observer cleared for field operations... (Observing what, will be covered in the course material).
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

  48. #17248
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy509 View Post
    Based on my experience, I would assume the role is being a trainee, being trained to be a observer cleared for field operations... (Observing what, will be covered in the course material).
    I'm starting to think this will not be good. Maybe I should take some time off.
    --Lunar

  49. #17249
    Wannabe Storage Freak
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,376
    My excellent luck strikes again!

    My $1065 video card (EVGA branded signature/SC, original 1st-gen Titan) purchased 5y3m ago just shit the bed. Three months after the extended warranty ended. I got "snow/static" on the screen then system crash. 4k monitor works fine via motherboard display port (DP) and CPU HD-4000 video. But only @ 30Hz instead of 60Hz.

    I tried re-inserting card into slot and re-inserting 6-pin & 8-pin power connectors. I re-installed current video & monitor drivers. I tried an older 22" 1680x1050 monitor connected via DVD-D cable instead of 4k monitor. I installed video card in another computer and it wouldn't even POST. So no luck. I'll try an older driver and the original driver on original CD but doubt it will work.

    --interesting observation--
    The motherboard DP connector only works with intel video driver installed but DVD-D connector/monitor will work with generic Win7 driver.

    Any other tech support suggestions? I hope and pray I'm just a retard and it's a simple fix, as I don't want to buy another video card. I don't game anymore so basic, 4k, 60Hz w/DP connector is fine.

    -Never OC'd.
    -No heavy bench-marking/stress testing.
    -Never crypto-mined.
    -No hard-core gaming (about 1.5yrs of light, 20-30min/day, MMO gaming).
    -powered by super quality/highly rated, Seasonic 660w platinum PSU.

    Also what's the current, cheapest, AMD & Nvidia video cards that will support 3840x2160x 60 Hz with "standard" DP connector? The Win7 UI is sluggish and only 30 Hz with the on-board video.
    - 3770k, 212 EVO, Z77X-UD4H, 32GB, 660w, Titan, 840 Pro/256GB, 2TB & 1TB, Define R4, P4317Q & ZR24w, Unicomp/104, Win7 Pro x64.

    - Nikon D610 w/grip, 50mm/1.4G, 16-35mm/4G, 105mm/2.8G micro, 200-500mm/5.6E.

  50. #17250
    Learning Storage Performance Newtun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    230
    Sorry for your loss. The sudden crap-out seems to indicate a hardware failure, so unfortunately, all your time-consuming diagnostics were in vain. But at least you have on-board video to "limp along" until you find a replacement.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 5 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 5 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •