Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: CAT8 cables

  1. #1
    Not really a Fixture
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,039

    CAT8 cables

    Apparently they're a thing. I saw these in an e-mail today.

  2. #2
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,715
    Wow...I wonder if you can even bend them. I might expect the twist per inch must be insane unless if they're doing something else to help reduce noise. I see they're listed as solid cables instead of a typical stranded cable for patch cables.

  3. #3
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,715
    Also, did you read through the user comments...they're kind of hilarious. I don't think they understand what they bought and/or are not using it for the intended purpose.

  4. #4
    Not really a Fixture
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    Also, did you read through the user comments...they're kind of hilarious. I don't think they understand what they bought and/or are not using it for the intended purpose.
    I think (hope?) that they're being made tongue-in-cheek.

  5. #5
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,715
    Me too...but I would not be surprised.

  6. #6
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    19,273
    Surprised to see them listed in up to 50' lengths. Normally stuff that fast has much shorter maximum runs.
    Work1: i7-8086@5.3Ghz, 32GB, 512GB 970 Pro, 2080ti
    Home1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti

  7. #7
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,793
    30 meter limit, apparently. So near enough to 100'.

    I will be more impressed if someone finds equipment that can actually utilize it.

  8. #8
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,715
    I'm not aware of any ethernet adapter that goes beyond 10Gb and uses a conventional RJ45 port. I would also be impressed to find something faster...not that I could even saturate a 10Gb right now.

  9. #9
    Not really a Fixture
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by time View Post
    I will be more impressed if someone finds equipment that can actually utilize it.
    What are you talking about? I replaced the CAT6 between my cable model and my router with one of these CAT8 cables and the CAT6 cable between my PC and the router and my internet ping dropped, I now get 25% more bandwidth in speed tests, and my gray hair has been fading.

  10. #10
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,617
    Is this real or some nonsense like $8000 speaker wires.?
    --Lunar

  11. #11
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,715
    The cable appears to be real. Their claims are hard to verify given lack of real world equipment using this cable type at speeds faster than 10Gb.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •