Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 51 to 74 of 74

Thread: Samsung Notebook

  1. #51
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    It looks like +$150 for the 8650U compared to the 8250U.
    --Lunar

  2. #52
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    U938 is vorpware so far. March, my ass.
    --Lunar

  3. #53
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    What would you use for RAM in the KABY Lake laptops rated for the DDR4 2400?
    There is only one socket due to the 4GB RAM chip being soldered.
    I was looking at this Crucial SO-DIMM, but am unsure if that is the best option.
    --Lunar

  4. #54
    Wotty wot wot. Storage Is My Life Chewy509's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,882
    Does Samsung have a certified RAM list for your laptop?

    Typically for unknown or non-publised lists, I'll stick with Kingston Intel-Certified RAM, or visit: https://www.kingston.com/en/memory/d...ystem-specific or http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/advisor to find out...
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

  5. #55
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy509 View Post
    Does Samsung have a certified RAM list for your laptop?

    Typically for unknown or non-publised lists, I'll stick with Kingston Intel-Certified RAM, or visit: https://www.kingston.com/en/memory/d...ystem-specific or http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/advisor to find out...
    Actually Samsung and LG have no RAM. I was thinking about the Fujitsu, but typically it takes months for the new models to appear in configuration lists.
    If I understand correctly the regular KABY Lake used 2133, but the Type R uses 2400.
    --Lunar

  6. #56
    Wotty wot wot. Storage Is My Life Chewy509's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,882
    Here is the Intel tested list... This should give a very high degree of confidence that'll just work...

    DDR4-2400: https://www.intel.com.au/content/www...n-results.html

    Main list for others: https://www.intel.com.au/content/www...rm-memory.html
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

  7. #57
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy509 View Post
    Here is the Intel tested list... This should give a very high degree of confidence that'll just work...

    DDR4-2400: https://www.intel.com.au/content/www...n-results.html

    Main list for others: https://www.intel.com.au/content/www...rm-memory.html
    Thanks. It is on the list, albeit for 7th generation CPUs. I feel better with the barebones SO-DIMM. Heatsinked SO-DIMMs may have some use in a large case, but the small, thin/light laptops have no extra space.
    --Lunar

  8. #58
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    The F****** killed two CC, so I may be back to the Samsung/LG RAM-less options.
    --Lunar

  9. #59
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    19,256
    Pre-ordered this. Should be good. Flying to Bucharest in about 6 weeks, and want to try the Oculus Rift on the flight.
    Work1: i7-8086@5.3Ghz, 32GB, 512GB 970 Pro, 2080ti
    Home1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti

  10. #60
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Pre-ordered this. Should be good. Flying to Bucharest in about 6 weeks, and want to try the Oculus Rift on the flight.
    I suppose that is good performance for 4+ lbs. However, I would be using it in a hotel room or somewhere else, not on an airline. You are not sleeping on the red-eye flight?
    --Lunar

  11. #61
    Storage is cool sdbardwick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    North San Diego County
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Pre-ordered this. Should be good. Flying to Bucharest in about 6 weeks, and want to try the Oculus Rift on the flight.
    Whoa! 180 Watt power adapter. Can you even run an adapter of that size on airplane seat power? IIRC DC connections at the seat are limited to around 75 Watts.

  12. #62
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    19,256
    I suspect it can charge at a lower draw. Perhaps it will limit performance when on battery (I hear most modern gaming laptops do). I've booked a bed at the very front (bulkhead in front of me), so there should be room for the sensors.
    Work1: i7-8086@5.3Ghz, 32GB, 512GB 970 Pro, 2080ti
    Home1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti

  13. #63
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by sdbardwick View Post
    Whoa! 180 Watt power adapter. Can you even run an adapter of that size on airplane seat power? IIRC DC connections at the seat are limited to around 75 Watts.
    Forget the airplane, who wants to haul that big honking adapter around the rest of the time? I'm surprised it can't work off of a 90W adapter.

    Meanwhile I'm hoping to charge the little KABY Lake R with a 30-40W USB-C charger if needed. The 65W charger is bit bulky to carry.
    --Lunar

  14. #64
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    19,256
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    Forget the airplane, who wants to haul that big honking adapter around the rest of the time?
    Did you look at the size of the adapter? It is remarkably small for the power output. Smaller than the current at least.
    Work1: i7-8086@5.3Ghz, 32GB, 512GB 970 Pro, 2080ti
    Home1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti

  15. #65
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Did you look at the size of the adapter? It is remarkably small for the power output. Smaller than the current at least.
    It's just a spec sheet without images. Maybe my bowser is not up to par.

  16. #66
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    I suspect it can charge at a lower draw. Perhaps it will limit performance when on battery (I hear most modern gaming laptops do). I've booked a bed at the very front (bulkhead in front of me), so there should be room for the sensors.
    It only has 82WHr of batteries, so obviously the 180W is for the CPU/GPU. 65W is about right for charging.
    Why is the resolution so low for 15.6' display? Is it for the gamers' vision?
    --Lunar

  17. #67
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    19,256
    Gaming mainly. They traded resolution for a higher refresh rate. Most of the time when I care about performance I'll be using an external monitor anyway.
    Work1: i7-8086@5.3Ghz, 32GB, 512GB 970 Pro, 2080ti
    Home1: i7-8700K@5.1Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti
    Home2: i9-7900X@4.5Ghz, 64GB, 512GB 960 Pro, 1080ti

  18. #68
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    The F****** killed two CC, so I may be back to the Samsung/LG RAM-less options.
    The order was re-placed now with May shipping.
    I'm not sure about the USB power since multiple voltages are available. Does the USB-C port need 19V to charge?
    --Lunar

  19. #69
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    I cannot get any charging on USB-C.
    --Lunar

  20. #70
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy509 View Post
    Here is the Intel tested list... This should give a very high degree of confidence that'll just work...

    DDR4-2400: https://www.intel.com.au/content/www...n-results.html

    Main list for others: https://www.intel.com.au/content/www...rm-memory.html
    I was able to obtain the Crucial Ballistix RAM more readily than the more basic Crucial.
    It works just fine despite the stupid-looking decal that is a picture of a heat sink.
    The laptop BIOS doesn't show any options for voltage, timings, etc.
    --Lunar

  21. #71
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    For some reason the display calibration is completely screwed after about 30 seconds on batteries. I cannot find any Windows settings that would account for it.
    --Lunar

  22. #72
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,790
    Is it by chance an OLED display?

  23. #73
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    No, it has some kind of LED LCD. It is 13.3" 1920x1080 matte without the stupid touch sensors.
    The image is fairly good but not wide gamut. Color temp was 7300 before calibration to 5500K.
    Of course there is a little grayscale ba ding since the blue and green are substantially diminished.
    --Lunar

  24. #74
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,529
    Quote Originally Posted by time View Post
    Is it by chance an OLED display?
    I figured it out. Despite setting all the CP power management options to maximum, there are additional power settings in the UHD 620 graphics for battery saving that oddly screw up the brightness and contrast.
    --Lunar

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •