Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: VPN connects but no network

  1. #1
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,746

    VPN connects but no network

    I'm trying to connect to a corporate VPN endpoint, to allow remote access to intranet apps, etc. It's a M$ PPTP VPN.

    I seem to have the problem at my home. A colleague tested my credentials at his home (with a Windows 10 laptop) and had no issues. I have tried two completely different Windows 7 desktops, without success. Also no joy with a Windows 10 laptop, but I seemed to get closer when I switched to a phone hot spot (and bypassed my router and ISP). Still didn't work properly though.

    The VPN client connects OK, but Windows Network and Sharing Center shows an exclamation mark next to the client and a red cross next to "Internet". Status for the VPN is "No Network". Pinging doesn't get me anywhere. Network type is "Work" and Windows Firewall is disabled.

    The router is a TP-Link Archer D2, which includes specific settings for VPN passthrough - they're enabled by default.

    I can connect to other VPNs, but possibly not with the M$ client.

    I've trawled the web for hours without finding a solution. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Storage? I am Storage! Howell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    4,707
    Not a routing issue our conflict between local subnet in use and remote subnet?

  3. #3
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,055
    Howell might have it, other things to check would be any static routes on the workstation. If you can change the local IP/subnet on your router (and DHCP), I'd give that a go.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  4. #4
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,746
    Quote Originally Posted by Howell View Post
    Not a routing issue our conflict between local subnet in use and remote subnet?
    Local subnet is 192.168.248.0, remote is 10.61.101.0.

    Route Table:
    Code:
    ===========================================================================
    Interface List
     25...........................Company VPN
     11...44 37 e6 ae e8 6f ......Intel(R) 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
      1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
     13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
     16...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
     26...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    ===========================================================================
    
    IPv4 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
              0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0    192.168.248.1  192.168.248.119   4235
              0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0         On-link     10.61.101.151     11
        10.61.101.151  255.255.255.255         On-link     10.61.101.151    266
            127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1   4531
            127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1   4531
      127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1   4531
        192.168.248.0    255.255.255.0         On-link   192.168.248.119   4491
      192.168.248.119  255.255.255.255         On-link   192.168.248.119   4491
      192.168.248.255  255.255.255.255         On-link   192.168.248.119   4491
         xxx.xx.x.xxx  255.255.255.255    192.168.248.1  192.168.248.119   4236
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1   4531
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link   192.168.248.119   4492
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link     10.61.101.151     11
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1   4531
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link   192.168.248.119   4491
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link     10.61.101.151    266
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
      None
    
    IPv6 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
     If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
     11   4106 ::/0                     fe80::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx
      1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
     11     18 2001:44b8:2135:3e01::/64 On-link
     11    266 2001:44b8:2135:3e01:81f:914e:e627:19ae/128
                                        On-link
     11    266 2001:44b8:2135:3e01:f4ca:2513:b067:12d1/128
                                        On-link
     11    266 fe80::/64                On-link
     11    266 fe80::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/128
                                        On-link
      1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
     11    266 ff00::/8                 On-link
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
      None

  5. #5
    Storage? I am Storage! Howell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    4,707
    Have you tried another VPN client? Shrewsoft will do PPTP.

  6. #6
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,746
    We've done more testing, and the problem appears to be something to do with my user profile. Logged into a laptop through my home internet, I can use my colleague's credentials for the VPN just fine, but mine either achieve nothing or fail in various ways (now getting a check-your-network-configuration message). The IT Manager says there's only one group for remote access - I'm in it so therefore it works. In fact, the only time it worked was when creating a VPN from inside the firewall at the office; I could then ping a server's IP address, but not resolve the server name. My colleague had no problems with the same setup on the same PC in the same logged in session.

    I have also tried the Watchguard Mobile Client with SSL. It just returns me to the password prompt every time I enter it.

  7. #7
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,746
    Epilogue: after I applied subtle pressure through management, the IT Manager actually checked and I was not in the access group after all. Apparently they didn't bother checking because everyone is in that group.

    I have no words.

  8. #8
    Storage? I am Storage! Howell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    4,707
    And your colleague who tested your credentials really had no issues?

  9. #9
    Storage? I am Storage! time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    4,746
    I might have to get a new colleague ...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •