Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst 123456
Results 251 to 276 of 276

Thread: NAS Drive

  1. #251
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    I recall in days of yore there were dire warnings about mismatched drives in the RAID. Does it matter much nowadays if a new drive of another model/RPM is added to a NAS so long as they are all NAS/enterprise grade drives?
    --Lunar

  2. #252
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,261
    I prefer to keep them the same but I don't think it matters as much if you're a single consumer/user of the storage array. There is the possibility that you'll be limited to the performance of the slowest drive.

  3. #253
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    Quote Originally Posted by Handruin View Post
    I prefer to keep them the same but I don't think it matters as much if you're a single consumer/user of the storage array. There is the possibility that you'll be limited to the performance of the slowest drive.
    I started with the Reds and was thinking about adding the Golds or similar Seagate 7200 RPM drives.
    --Lunar

  4. #254
    Serial computer killer Hairy Aussie CougTek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Québec
    Posts
    8,633
    Go for helium-filled hard drives. Every report I've read underlines their superior reliability. HGST has exemplary failure numbers, but the Seagate helium-filled drives are supposed to be quite good too. I've read nothing so far regarding reliability about the WD Gold.

  5. #255
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    A year ago the Reds were the only reasonable helium 8TB drives for my NADS (6 drives in RAID 6). At the time the HGST He8 did not seem like a good option as the 10TB Enterprise Seagates were newer technology, but those four are being used as primary drives at least until January. From what I could see there are no 8TB helium Seagate drives yet. I could just buy a couple more Reds but figured that a couple of 7200 RPM drives would have some future life. I have no idea why the Gold is cheaper than the Red Pro, but it has the higher durability/reliability specs of the HGST and Seagate enterprise drives.
    --Lunar

  6. #256
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,187
    Quote Originally Posted by CougTek View Post
    Go for helium-filled hard drives. Every report I've read underlines their superior reliability. HGST has exemplary failure numbers, but the Seagate helium-filled drives are supposed to be quite good too. I've read nothing so far regarding reliability about the WD Gold.
    They all seem rather expensive. Like $400+ for a 10TB Enterprise grade one.

  7. #257
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    The 3 last year were 1700. I'm only buying two 8TB to fill the NAS now.

    I'm going to buy a good new NAS and put the 4 10TB and a couple more in it next year.
    That will be $3K for the Synolog y without drives.
    --Lunar

  8. #258
    Storage? I am Storage! sechs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Left Coast
    Posts
    4,356
    I'm clearly the odd-man out in getting more spindles of consumer-grade drives, and just expecting them to fail on the regular....
    It's not what you know, but who you know.

  9. #259
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,261
    I'm similar to you. I buy consumer grade drives and just expect they will fail.

  10. #260
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,187
    Is there a 10TB consumer grade drive that isn't shingled?

  11. #261
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    Is there a 10TB consumer grade drive that isn't shingled?
    That would be the Barracuda Pro. All the 10TB Seagate drives from the basic NAS model (cheapest of all) to the Enterprise are within a fairly small price range.
    I really don't understand the pricing structure, but the drives probably have many common parts.
    --Lunar

  12. #262
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,187
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    That would be the Barracuda Pro. All the 10TB Seagate drives from the basic NAS model (cheapest of all) to the Enterprise are within a fairly small price range.
    I really don't understand the pricing structure, but the drives probably have many common parts.
    I've seen the SAS Enterprise version for $420 too. I don't see why someone would try to save $20 and get a significantly lower MTBF and a slightly slower drive. So they give you data recovery. Big deal... I'm sure that doesn't help someone using them in RAID. It's not like you're paying double to go Enterprise.

  13. #263
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,261
    Looks like WD announced a 10TB Red (5400RPM $494) and a 10TB Red Pro NAS (7200RPM $533) SATA drives that aren't what I'd consider enterprise but they are definitely asking enterprise prices for a SATA drive.

  14. #264
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    Just ordered a stack of the 10TB Seagate Enterprise drives. We'll see how they do.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  15. #265
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,187
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Just ordered a stack of the 10TB Seagate Enterprise drives. We'll see how they do.
    Which model and how much were they each?

  16. #266
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Just ordered a stack of the 10TB Seagate Enterprise drives. We'll see how they do.
    Mine are still fine after nearly a year. I would think the current production would have worked out any bugs if there were any.
    Are they for work or your personal NAS?
    --Lunar

  17. #267
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    Paid $406 each for 4x ST10000NM0016 - still waiting on one. Will be going into a Synology DS1517+ along with 16GB of RAM, X540T2, and a 1.2TB S3500. This will be to play with iSCSI hosting of ESXi VMs for vMotion and possibly HA along with normal fileserver duties.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  18. #268
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    If it works as I expect it to the production environment will probably use vSAN.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  19. #269
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,187
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Paid $406 each for 4x ST10000NM0016
    Since when is 4 drives a stack? Especially by ddrueding standards.

  20. #270
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Paid $406 each for 4x ST10000NM0016 - still waiting on one. Will be going into a Synology DS1517+ along with 16GB of RAM, X540T2, and a 1.2TB S3500. This will be to play with iSCSI hosting of ESXi VMs for vMotion and possibly HA along with normal fileserver duties.
    I'll be interested in your experience with the drives in the DS1517+.
    IIRC two SSDs are needed for read/write caching, so you would only be caching reads with the one SSD. I'm curious if it helps much considering the CPU used.
    The M.2 adapter and X540T2 cannot be both used since the DS1517+ has only one PCIe slot.
    --Lunar

  21. #271
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    Quote Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
    Since when is 4 drives a stack? Especially by ddrueding standards.
    When it is 40GB of raw storage

    My current 8-drive array at home has less capacity, even after redundancy is subtracted out.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  22. #272
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I'll be interested in your experience with the drives in the DS1517+.
    IIRC two SSDs are needed for read/write caching, so you would only be caching reads with the one SSD. I'm curious if it helps much considering the CPU used.
    The M.2 adapter and X540T2 cannot be both used since the DS1517+ has only one PCIe slot.
    Not the fastest, but good for testing. The smallest unit that ticks all the feature boxes I was looking for. I went with 4x 10GB to fit a normal SATA SSD because the NIC and M.2 couldn't fit at the same time. Shame about that.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  23. #273
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,187
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    When it is 40GB of raw storage

    My current 8-drive array at home has less capacity, even after redundancy is subtracted out.
    Lightweight!

    What redundancy are you using this time around? You're only after 20TB?

    I was thinking of something like 10 of them in RAID-6, as an array upgrade to my server (though I don't need more space). I'd move the current 10x6TB RAID-6 array into the still to be assembled "new"/old mishmash backup server, but that would be some time in the future when the drives are a little cheaper and I've got more disposable income.

    I've got all the parts but the new drives. The motherboard from the old server. A Q9550S CPU from eBay, an extra set of the same SAS RAID card and SAS expander that are in the main sever. RAM from the old server, 10gig Ethernet card, even have a used 4U 20 bay Norco enclosure. I suppose I should put it together with the currently unused old 8x2TB drives and make sure it all works and plays nice first.

  24. #274
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    Yup, just 20TB. Mostly running the storage for the 3 VMs that will be on a pair of ESXi machines using all the redundancy options, some basic file server stuff, and storage for the security cameras and call recording package. Only 5 concurrent users at that location, but they make ~$11M/year so some significant expense is worthwhile to keep them operating.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  25. #275
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,218
    Do you expect the DS1517+ to be much better than the QNAP TS-831X?
    --Lunar

  26. #276
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19,006
    Not really, but at this point I am familiar enough with Synology products that going that route will simplify the deployment process and allow me to get to testing more quickly. The TS-831X has more bays, but the feature set seems similar.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •