Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567
Results 301 to 333 of 333

Thread: NAS Drive

  1. #301
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by sechs View Post
    LOL
    It's Linux!
    Well, I don't mean the code. I should say I like the DSM better than the QTS.
    --Lunar

  2. #302
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by sechs View Post
    LOL
    It's Linux!
    Well, I don't mean the code. I should say I like the DSM better than the QTS.
    --Lunar

  3. #303
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Nope. I put 500GB SSDs in mine, their STR should be at least as good as the HDDs. And that is before two operations start happening at the same time.
    I tried but the continual read speeds are shit after less than an hour as the buffer randomly fills.
    --Lunar

  4. #304
    Storage? I am Storage! sechs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Left Coast
    Posts
    4,510
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    Well, I don't mean the code. I should say I like the DSM better than the QTS.
    They're both Linux. They just have different front-ends.

    And, in theory, both should be free to use....
    It's not what you know, but who you know.

  5. #305
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by sechs View Post
    They're both Linux. They just have different front-ends.

    And, in theory, both should be free to use....
    Presumably the NADS manufacturers tend to use the free Linux OS to run their systems and then they can support many programs for that OS.
    I don't use such programs but I see many are preinstalled and other available for additional costs.
    --Lunar

  6. #306
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    Nope. I put 500GB SSDs in mine, their STR should be at least as good as the HDDs. And that is before two operations start happening at the same time.
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I tried but the continual read speeds are shit after less than an hour as the buffer randomly fills.
    The problem is that I only need write caching not read/write. When reading only, somehow the SSDs are slowly filling up. After 800GB read, they are over 90% full and then get closer to 98% eventually.
    I assumed that once they were nearly full the read speeds would return to normal, but they seem to be the slowest yet, maybe 20-25% of the normal read speeds after 2TB read when I gave up. I don't believe the slow reads are related to the SSDs, which were tested at 520-540 MB/sec., but perhaps there is something other negative effect. Unfortunately the DSM does not allow any option other than R or R/W and enable/disable large file caching. Perhaps there are some Linux codes to control the data storage will more granularity, but that is beyond my level.
    --Lunar

  7. #307
    Storage? I am Storage! sechs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Left Coast
    Posts
    4,510
    For those of you in love with BTRFS:
    Btrfs RAID 5/6 Support Is "Mostly OK" With Linux 4.12
    It's not what you know, but who you know.

  8. #308
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Ironically I am not using the Synology brtfs since it is disappointingly slow compared to the normal FS.
    --Lunar

  9. #309
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by DrunkenBastard View Post
    Best Buy has the 8TB WD EasyStor external USB 3 drives on sale for $180, which contains a WD Red drive. Limit of three per order.
    Not that I need any more Red drives, but the 8TB is now $200. Maybe someone can benefit.
    --Lunar

  10. #310
    Storage is cool DrunkenBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the floor
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    Not that I need any more Red drives, but the 8TB is now $200. Maybe someone can benefit.
    Thanks Lunar, my 240 GB Sandisk SSD Plus Win 7 boot drive just took a massive shit. Did get some disk errors in the past week so created a recovery optical disc and a system image to another drive. However doesnt look like I can recover the image seamlessly without reinstalling Win 7 again first.

    Ordered a Samsung 960 Pro 512GB m2 drive to replace it.

  11. #311
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by DrunkenBastard View Post
    Thanks Lunar, my 240 GB Sandisk SSD Plus Win 7 boot drive just took a massive shit. Did get some disk errors in the past week so created a recovery optical disc and a system image to another drive. However doesnt look like I can recover the image seamlessly without reinstalling Win 7 again first.

    Ordered a Samsung 960 Pro 512GB m2 drive to replace it.
    What hardware is that using? Does it support the full performance?
    --Lunar

  12. #312
    Storage is cool DrunkenBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the floor
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    What hardware is that using? Does it support the full performance?
    It'll be going into an MSI x99a Gaming 7 mobo with an i7 5930k.

    Sorry, to clarify, no standalone NAS involved.

  13. #313
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    That's what I have. I'm not a fan of the MSI BIOS, but it I was tired of the Gigabyte boards crapping out.
    I started with an XP241 and then replaced it with the SM951 when that was introduced. There was little improvement, since the XP241 is quite fast. I decided to resist further upgrades.
    There is a 200m case fan that blows the M.2 SSD to keep it cool enough. If yours does not have a heat sink, I suggest checking the temperature after running some long benchmarks.
    --Lunar

  14. #314
    Serial computer killer Hairy Aussie CougTek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Québec
    Posts
    8,692
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    There is a 200m case fan...
    Unless you're trying to cool off a volcano, that is some serious overkill.

  15. #315
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    I thought it was. I don't have a large enough calipers, but my imperial Stanley tape measures a bit over 8.5 inches between diagonal case mounting screws.
    It is an old Cutlass case.
    --Lunar

  16. #316
    Serial computer killer Hairy Aussie CougTek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Québec
    Posts
    8,692
    And another train goes by without stopping at the station...

  17. #317
    Storage is cool sdbardwick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    North San Diego County
    Posts
    538
    I don't think a 660 foot fan would fit in an Olds Cutlass, even one from 60's or 70's. Maybe a 98...

  18. #318
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by sdbardwick View Post
    I don't think a 660 foot fan would fit in an Olds Cutlass, even one from 60's or 70's. Maybe a 98...
    Oh, I meant 200mm. The case is actually a Corsair. I was not wearing near vision glasses and there is a boat logo on the emblem.

    Our family had an Olds Cutlass type of wagon around 1980 or so that I drove occasionally. What a useless POS engine it had, with all the constant EEPROM or whatever programming IC updates.
    --Lunar

  19. #319
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,416
    Quote Originally Posted by CougTek View Post
    Unless you're trying to cool off a volcano, that is some serious overkill.
    It's post like these that make me happy.

    For perspective, a conventional wind turbine blade is 35m in length...so a 200m fan is enormous. I'd love to know the physics if it would even be possible to sustain a spin on that without self-destruction due to material failure.
    Last edited by Handruin; 07-11-2017 at 11:54 PM. Reason: Correction to poor grammar

  20. #320
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,131
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vestas_V164

    Rotor diameter 164m, total height 220m. Still not big enough.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  21. #321
    NVIDIA> AMD Fixture Handruin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12,416
    That's getting close though. That's a large diameter rotor and 9MW!

  22. #322
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vestas_V164

    Rotor diameter 164m, total height 220m. Still not big enough.
    It is not large enough for what, exactly? When the rotor exceeds the speed of sound does it go back in time?
    --Lunar

  23. #323
    Fixture ddrueding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Monterey, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    19,131
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    It is not large enough for what, exactly? When the rotor exceeds the speed of sound does it go back in time?
    The bigger they get the slower they go. But the torque gets insane and breaks things. Mainly the gearbox.
    Work1: i7-5930K@4.57Ghz, 64GB, 512GB Samsung XP941, 2x 290X
    Home1: i7-7700k@5Ghz, 32GB, 1TB 960 Evo, 2x 1080
    Home2: i7-6700k@4.4Ghz, 32GB@3Ghz, 2x SM951, 2x Titan X

  24. #324
    Not really a Hairy Aussie
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,470
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    It is not large enough for what, exactly?
    To cool your SSD apparently.

  25. #325
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Maybe it is needed for X299 multi-M.2?
    --Lunar

  26. #326
    Storage? I am Storage! Clocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,527
    The WD 8TB drives are back on sale. This time for $160. Supposed to be a RED inside. The two I bought previously were indeed REDs inside.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-easys...?skuId=5792401

  27. #327
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by Clocker View Post
    The WD 8TB drives are back on sale. This time for $160. Supposed to be a RED inside. The two I bought previously were indeed REDs inside.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-easys...?skuId=5792401
    I tried two nearby stores with no luck.
    --Lunar

  28. #328
    Learning Storage Performance Newtun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I tried two nearby stores with no luck.
    Order online, with free delivery to a BB near U?

  29. #329
    Storage? I am Storage! Clocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,527
    They have free 2-day delivery to the house for orders over $35.

    Capture.JPG

  30. #330
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Home delivery is not an option now. I ordered and will see if they are in by Fridays.
    --Lunar

  31. #331
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    Home delivery is not an option now. I ordered and will see if they are in by Fridays.
    It's in a different city from what I expected.
    --Lunar

  32. #332
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    So I opened one of the extra drives from a month ago or so, and the internal drives are a different kind of RED from what is sold online.
    The model is WD80EFAX, so maybe it is of a lower grade or has different internal organs.

    The cases really crack and cut the fingers.
    --Lunar

  33. #333
    I can't believe I'm a Fixture LunarMist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,782
    Quote Originally Posted by LunarMist View Post
    I keep getting the error message from the NAS that there is a fan failure at startup, yet fans are both working. It's quite annoyingly beeping at us each time.
    Quote Originally Posted by ddrueding View Post
    The fans are typically pretty easy to replace, though I've only had to do it once.
    I checked the TS-831X logs and there have been no warnings for a few months. I think it was resolved by a QTS update in August or early September. There was nothing mentioned in the release notes though.

    I was a bit surprised to note that the newest drives are listed as having been in operation for about as long as they have been installed. However, I have the power saving in effect and the drives spin down after 30 minutes of idle. Does a drive remain under power when parked and that time counts on the odometer so to speak?
    --Lunar

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 4 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 4 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •